It’s official!

ofwSundays are only my time of rest. But as of this moment, while I’m composing this post, it’s a beautiful Sunday morning, and I’m spending it in the Philippine Embassy here in SG. Before I go home for a vacation on CNY, I need to acquire an OEC or Overseas Employment Certificate so I won’t have to pay the travel tax and terminal fees when I get back from PH. Before I can get the OEC, I need to apply for OWWA membership first. Normally, according to the website of OWWA, it would take less than an hour to get both membership and OEC. But since its Sunday, and most people’s free time is sunday, this place is packed! I never imagined SG to be full of so many pinoys. Haha.
Anyways, my friend accompanied me here, and we arrived just a little after 730 am, and the que is already looong. The embassy started giving numbers around 8am and the processing opened at 9am. My que number for owwa application is 120! Anyways, after almost 4 hours, I was done with both owwa and OEC application! That is how long it took me to finish the process. It’s a good thing that we were “early”. I heard that I still have to apply for the pag-ibig fund but was too tired to que again in lucky plaza. Maybe next time.
So that’s it! As my friend told me, i’m now officially an OFW! πŸ˜‰

PS. The Philippine Embassy in SG is located at 20 Nassim Road. From Orchard MRT station, exit to Orchard Road. When you go up the escalator, turn left (towards Wheelock Place), Wisma should be on your right. Keep walking in that direction until you see Orchard Parade Hotel. From the hotel you should be able to sight Nassim Road on the opposite road. Cross over and start walking up Nassim Road. You will see the cool looking condos, the dilapidated Embassy of Saudi Arabia, the futuristic Japan Embassy, and finally, a lonesign that says– Embassy of the Philippines (looks more like a residential place to me). The Embassy is open from Sundays to Thursdays 9:00 am to 12:30 and 1:30 pm to 3:00pm. OWWA application fee is 42SGD while OEC is 5.50SGD each.

Leave a Reply

