Wicked hangover :)

Last night, my friend and I had the chance to watch the Wicked musical here in Singapore. The first time I’ve heard of wicked was in an episode of Glee, wherein there was a Defying Gravity diva-off between Rachel and Kurt. Also, the two original cast of the broadway musical Kristin Chenoweth (Glinda) and Idina Menzel (Elphaba) has guest starred in Glee. Imagine my excitement when I found out that it will be shown here in SG. And this is by far the best musical I’ve watched, although there isn’t so much on my list yet (only Cats and Saigon). Being a fan of glee, I’ve watched Kristin and Idina perform, and I could almost imagine them performing the songs from the Wicked musical.

Wicked tells the untold story of the Witches of Oz. Long before Dorothy dropped in, two other girls meet in the Land of Oz. One, born with emerald green skin, is smart, fiery and misunderstood. The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular. Wicked tells the story of how these two unlikely friends grow to become the Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good.

I have just been recently a fan of musicals and I have to say, this one is my favorite to date. Aside from the fact that some of the songs are quite popular (again, thanks to Glee), I also did research on the synopsis prior to watching so I was able to appreciate everything else without having to worry about understanding the story. There was a balance of humor (especially Glinda’s character), romance (Fiyero ❤ Elphaba), great songs, great story, and overall just one amazing show 🙂 I can’t help but want to give a standing ovation during the Finale.

PS. Wicked the Musical in Singapore is showing in the Grand Theatre, Marina Bay Sands until April 22, 2012. Check their website for more info:.

Leave a Reply

