I have a date with spring

20120425-121828.jpg

Last month, my cellgroup leader asked me if I could play in a school production which would be playing songs from a Chinese stage play. Since I’m not busy and was quite keen to be able to play, I agreed. Later on I found out that this musical would serve as a graduating class’ final project. To top that, we are going to receive money as payment for being in the live band. Pressure galore! Anyways, so after almost a month, we are now almost near the opening date. The musical would be shown on April 27-30 at the NAFA (Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts) Campus 3 Studio Theatre.

I Have A Date With Spring (Chinese: 我和春天有個約會) was a stage play originally written by Raymond To. It was later adapted into a film that was released in 1994 in Hong Kong.

Most of the film takes place in a continuing flashback of one fateful night in 1967 at the Flower Palace Nightclub. On the night of the Hong Kong 1967 Leftist Riots, Butterfly Yiu was given an accidental chance to perform the final show when the original and star performer, Pak Long, was stranded at another venue. This started a chain of events that will change the four character’s lives forever.

The beginning and the end of the movie takes place in modern times, and Butterfly returns from retirement in Canada to perform in a final charity show at the Flower Palace Nightclub before it is demolished.

I must admit, it was quite an honor to be a part of this, although I’m scared because I’m not actually a professional musician to begin with. Still, I’m grateful for the opportunity to be able to share what little talent I have. Oh, I’ll be playing keyboards btw, and will be a part of a 3 man band (keyboard, bass guitar, drums). We will be playing live for 8-9 songs and some we will act through the minus one. Dress rehearsals are on the way, and I just hope I’ll be able to pull it off. In His name 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

