Top ten places I would like to visit before I die :)

This post would serve as a goal for me. I wanna be able to go to half of these places on my list, if not all. Hey, it’s free to dream right?

My top ten places I would like to visit before I die πŸ™‚

Great Wall of China

10. Great Wall of China,Beijing

The Great Wall of China, one of the greatest wonders of the world, was listed as a World Heritage by UNESCO in 1987. Just like a gigantic dragon, the Great Wall winds up and down across deserts, grasslands, mountains and plateaus, stretching approximately 8,851.8 kilometers (5,500 miles) from east to west of China. With a history of more than 2000 years, some of the sections are now in ruins or have disappeared. However, it is still one of the most appealing attractions all around the world owing to its architectural grandeur and historical significance. (http://www.travelchinaguide.com/china_great_wall/)

Being one of the original Seven Wonders of the World is probably the best reason I can give on why I would like to set foot on this landmark. Since it’s just in Asia, I’m hoping that I would be able to go here before I turn 30 (crossing fingers) πŸ™‚

9. Taj Mahal, India

The Taj Mahal is a white marble mausoleum located in Agra, India. It was built by a Mughal emperor Shah Jahan in memory of his third wife, Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is widely recognized as “the jewel of Muslim art in India and one of the universally admired masterpieces of the world’s heritage.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taj_Mahal)

A friend of mine has been discouraging me on visiting India, but hopefully I would still be able to see and admire this mausoleum in person.

8. Angkor Wat, Cambodia

Ever since I’ve been to Thailand, I became a fan of beautiful architectural buildings and palaces that also play a significant role in the history of the country it belongs to. Angkor Wat is the largest Hindu temple complex in the world, situated at Angkor, Cambodia, built by King Suryavarman II in the early 12th century as his state temple and capital city. As the best-preserved temple at the site, it is the only one to have remained a significant religious centre since its foundation – first Hindu, dedicated to the god Vishnu, then Buddhist. The temple is at the top of the high classical style of Khmer architecture. It has become a symbol of Cambodia, appearing on its national flag, and it is the country’s prime attraction for visitors. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Angkor_Wat)

This place is fairly easy to go to, what with all the seat sale in airlines that targets those of us who wants to travel on a tight budget. I’ve already made plans to go here next year, but if our US visit pushes through, I would definitely make sure I visit Cambodia on 2014. πŸ˜€

7. Paris, France
Paris is the capital city of France, and also said to be the city of love, the most romantic place on earth and French as the language of love. But contrary to that, Paris is also a place rich in art museums of famous artists the likes of Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael and Picasso. Eiffel Tower, Louvre, Notre Dame Cathedral, and Pantheon are among the few landmarks that can also be found in this city. Being fascinated by wonderful architectures, I think this city alone will satisfy me.

 

6. New Caledonia

I first saw this beautiful island in the Korean drama “Boys Over Flowers”. New Caledonia is a special collectivity of France located in the southwest Pacific Ocean, 1,500 kilometres (930 mi) east of Australia and about 20,000 kilometres (12,000 mi) from Metropolitan France. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Caledonia)

According to lonelyplanet.com, New Caledonia is the place to experience the Pacific with a taste of France, where Melanesian tradition blends with French sophistication. I actually have no idea how to get there, or where it is exactly. But it would be nice to spend a romantic getaway to this lovely island ❀

5. CheongSanDo, South Korea

I am a fan of koreanovelas, no doubt about that. But part of the reason I watch these series is the scenery it shows. South Korea is full of beautiful provinces and islands, the most famous being Jeju Island. I would love to see Jeju Island as well, but my priority is this beautiful, quaint province of CheongSanDo. I saw this province in Spring Waltz, one of the installment of the season series (Autumn in my heart, Summer Scent, Winter Sonata). There was this scene where the kids are running around and playing hide and seek in a garden of yellow flowers that were as tall as them.

Cheongsan-do island in Wando county is one of the four places in Jeollanam-do designated as slow cities by the Cittaslow movement. (http://briandeutsch.blogspot.com/2009/04/slow-walking-festival-on-cheongsan-do.html). The yellow flowers are called Canola flowers.

4. Machu Picchu, Peru

Machu Picchu is a pre-Columbian 15th-century Inca site located 2,430 metres (7,970 ft)above sea level.Machu Picchu is located in the Cusco Region of Peru, South America. It is situated on a mountain ridge above the Urubamba Valley in Peru, which is 80 kilometres (50 mi) northwest of Cusco and through which the Urubamba River flows. Most archaeologists believe that Machu Picchu was built as an estate for the Inca emperor Pachacuti (1438–1472). Often referred to as the “Lost City of the Incas”, it is perhaps the most familiar icon of the Inca World. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Machu_Picchu).

Machu Picchu was declared a Peruvian Historical Sanctuary in 1981 and a UNESCOWorld Heritage Site in 1983. In 2007, Machu Picchu was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in a worldwide Internet poll.

Tubbataha Reef, Palawan

3. Tubbataha Reef, Palawan

I know, I know, this is by far the easiest and most accessible to reach in my list. I don’t know why I still haven’t found the time to go to this beautiful place. I already fell in love with Coron, Palawan, and I’m sure that I would also feel the same for Tubbataha.

Tubbataha Reef is an atoll coral reef located in the Sulu Sea of the Philippines. It is a marine sanctuary protected as Tubbataha Reef National Marine Park. It was nominated at the New 7 Wonders of Nature. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tubbataha_Reef)

2. Tokyo, Japan

Most of Japan’s famous tourist attractions are in Tokyo, the country’s capital. Part of the charm of Japan for me is it’s Sakura Season (Cherry Blossom Season). In Japan, hanami or cherry blossom viewing are usually observed late March or early April. (http://gojapan.about.com/od/attractionintokyo/tp/sakuratokyo.htm)

1. Santorini, Greece

Who wouldn’t fall in love with those dome-shaped blue-and-white houses, overlooking the ocean, with donkeys as one means of transportation? There have been a lot of resorts who adopted the concept of Santorini, but nothing beats seeing the real thing yourself. I once posted a Facebook status about wanting to see Santorini before I die. I hope that I would really, really be able to visit this place someday ❀

Disclaimer: The photos are not mine but from the link also posted as reference.

2 thoughts on “Top ten places I would like to visit before I die :)

Leave a Reply

