Singapore Zoo on SG’s National Day

Singapore Zoo!

August 9, 2012

The last time I went to the zoo, I think I was still in gradeschool. I’ve always wanted to go back but since life has been pretty busy while I was growing up, and aside from the fact that I’m too old to bother going on my own, I never found the time to go. I recently became friends with one of the pinays from the church I am attending now and she asked me if I wanted to come with her and her family to the zoo. Since it was a Public Holiday and I’ve got nothing to do, I decided to come along, and I’m glad I did.

The Singapore Zoo is one of the tourist attractions in Singapore. It is located at Mandai Road which is probably why locally it is known as the Mandai Zoo. It is right next to the Night Safari. It was also quite easy to commute since there are buses that go directly to the zoo. The entrance fee is 20sgd for adults and 13sgd for children. Since we went on public holiday, there were a lot of people queuing to get tickets and visit the zoo. The zoo is very big, and houses about 315 species of animal, of which some 16% are considered threatened species.

The experience is quite relaxing and tiring at the same time because we have to walk a very long way (the place is quite big). Aside from the different animals you can see, there are also shows such as Elephants show, Rainforest Fights back, and Splash Safari show as well as rides such as elephant and tram ride. We were with an 8 year old boy and his excitement is very contagious, and I really like taking care of kids. There’s a section inside for kids (Kidzworld) and there was a wet playground where kids as well as adults can play and swim. I loved this enclosed area where they have the aerial animals flying around as well as some land animals. Its amazing how the government here focuses on recreational activities that benefit the residents as well as the tourists.

All in all this is one great tourist destination in Singapore, for kids and adults alike.

Here’s some photos I took, pardon the crappiness since I only used my iPhone to take photos 🙂

Kangaroo

Tortoise

herd of deer

Giraffe

Lemur

Green tree Phyton

Hanging Bats

Wet Play area

Ain’t he cute?

Zebra

How to commute there:

1. Take MRT and alight at Woodlands MRT Station, then take Bus 926 in the Woodlands Bus Interchange. (Bus 926 are available only on Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays)

2. Take MRT and alight at Choa Chu Kang MRT Station, then take Bus 927 in CCK Bus Interchange.

3. Take MRT and alight at Ang Mokio MRT Station, then take Bus 138

Check the Singapore Zoo website for more information.

Leave a Reply

