I Ran 10K

Source: http://nikeinc.com/nike-running/news/we-run-2012-race-calendarI must be in my sporty phase this year.  This year, I was able to conquer my first 5km and 10km run.  I’ve never been able to join these kinds of run in my country before.  Oh what a little extra time can do. 🙂

Yesterday, October 21, 2012, we ran in the Nike We RUN SG 10K 2012.  This is my 2nd run ever, being the first in the 10k category.

Nike has been hosting these kinds of event each year.  This year, there will be 34 participating countries, with the kickoff in Riga, Latvia last August 26, 2012 and concluding on December 15, 2012 in Santiago, Chile.

We were able to join here in Singapore together with my college friend and roommate, and some of her colleagues.  20,000 runners have registered for this race.  The race started at 7:15 am, but due to a lot of runners, we were only able to start around 7:50 am.  It’s been raining hard the previous day so it was really a blessing that the rain didn’t pour in until like 3 hours after the race.  And since we started a bit late, the sun was shining so high while we were halfway through it.  We ran in pairs, and me and my partner finished approximately 1 hr and 45 mins. Haha.. Too long I know. I didn’t have any practice prior to this race and I was always insisting on walking. But still, I think I was able to run the half of it.

All in all, I’m still satisfied that I was able to finish it without any physical injuries whatsoever. And that we weren’t really the last ones to finish.  Also, I liked the t-shirt and finisher’s shirt they gave us.  Hopefully, I can improve my timing next time. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

