Balinese Massage

10 May 2013

Yesterday, I gave in to my body’s urging pleas to have a massage.  I’ve been having this back pain for as long as I can remember, and usually before when I was home I would just call our regular ‘home-service Hilot’ so she can ease the pain away with her fingers. Since living abroad denies me of that luxury (which is quite cheap when you compare to spas and salons out there), I just ignored the pain when it comes because it would eventually go away to come back another day.  Haha 😀

Massages have different types mostly depending on which country it came from. I honestly don’t care what type I have, as long as it will help me relax my muscles and reduce the pain I feel, specially my back area.  Since I haven’t tried massages here in SG, and google search would often lead me to expensive ones, I asked the bf’s mom for a good, cheap massage that she could recommend. It turns out that they have a regular shop they go to in which they are members of (discounted price for me!).  Haha.  Anyways, cutting the story short, aunty accompanied me last night for an hour of Traditional Balinese Massage at the House of Traditional Balinese Massage located in Upper Thomson Road.  One hour of their traditional massage costs $45 for members.  It’s already cheap if you compare it with other spas in Singapore that would normally cost $60-$80 per hour. (45Sgd is 1500 Php! 5 times the price of my regular hilot 😦 ).

Balinese massage originated from, wanna guess? Bali, Indonesia. Haha.  A Balinese massage uses a combination of gentle stretches, acupressure and aromatherapy oils to stimulate the flow of blood, oxygen and ‘qi’ (energy) around your body, and bring deep relaxation and wellness.

Balinese massage (related to Ayurveda) is a rigorous and luxurious spa treatment and a great one to choose if you want to experience a variety of massage techniques, relax and feel spiritually renewed at the same time. A relaxation massage with attitude, this treatment will boost your circulation and give you a deep tissue and muscular massage as well. (source: http://auraspabintan.com/spa-menu/balinese-massage)

The House of Balinese Traditional Massage in Upper Thompson Road is one of their two branches. The other one would be in Jalan Bingka. They have a variety of massages, reflexology and facials, though I can’t find any website.  Upon entering the room, they will ask you to change into disposable panties.  It would be less embarrassing though if they dimmed the lights a bit.  Anyways, it’s not so weird once I was already face-down (clothe-less except for the undies).  She started by putting a damp hot towel on my body, presumably to clean it. Then she covered my body with towels and started massaging it starting from my feet to my back.  After that she then started to massage using oil and concentrating on certain parts one at a time.  Her hands where not so hard, and as she was kneading my muscles I can only sigh in contentment.  Too bad I didn’t get her name so that I can ask for her when I return.  All in all, I was quite satisfied with the massage, although next time I might ask them to concentrate more on my back.  The ambiance was also good, it was clean and decent.  I haven’t heard any conversation except for my aunty and her masseuse (we shared the same room and only separated by a cloth), which is quite nice if you want peace and quiet.  I would definitely go back here, probably for a monthly regular massage since I think I really need it. 😉

One thought on “Balinese Massage

  1. Pingback: this is me

Leave a Reply

