The Chronicles of Korea – Hongdae

After our Gapyeong tour, we went back to the hostel to rest for a while, then my sisters and I went out again so we could meet my dear friend Carla who is a flight attendant based in Korea (Asiana Airlines). Β  She is a high school friend and whenever we are both in the same place, we make it a point to have sleepovers, well that meant me sleeping over her layover hotel. So while we were still finalizing the plan of meeting for dinner, she asked me whether I want to sleepover at her hotel. Sure enough I asked for my parents permission and we left for Hongdae with me bringing extra clothes for the next day’s plans, which is in the Trick Eye Museum which is located in Hongdae. Convenient much right? πŸ™‚

Hongdae, yet another tourist destination in Seoul, is named after Hongik University. This neighborhood is quite famous to the youth as it is surrounded by clubs, shops, cafes and restaurants. There is a night market during weekends that showcase the works of art students from the university. There are also street performances that seems to be crowded all the time.

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

random artworks perfect for photo-ops..

P1010153

busy street

P1010151

street performer

P1010158

Hello Kitty Cafe

P1010167 P1010186

Since Carla is familiar with this place, she took us to one of the famous BBQ shops in Hongdae (the name of which I wasn’t able to get, haha). Β We settled on the second floor and Carla asked for a plastic bag from the waiter, she was also carrying a plastic shower cap. haha. The reason is because the smoke smell would easily stick to the hair and the coats so people really take out their coats so as to minimize the smell afterwards. Β  By the end of the meal, we didn’t bother the smell, because the food was so good. I’m craving for it right now. πŸ˜›

writings on the wall

writings on the wall

the spread.

the spread.

20140308_203646 20140308_203655

meet Carla <3

meet Carla ❀

To experience true Korean spirit, you must dip the grilled Samgyeopsal (pork belly meat) in sesame oil and salt combination, put it in the lettuce leaf, add some rice to it and put in your mouth. There’s also beef meat strips although called differently, but taste good all the same.Β Aaarghhh. Craving. For. It. Right. Now.

After that highly delicious meal, we walked around the shops and contemplated on whether to go for clubbing or go to a Noraebang. Then my sisters craved for Odeng or fish cakes on a stick (yes, Food again!) served by those mobile kinds of food carts. Β It was also good, if only I wasn’t too full I would’ve ordered for myself. They will also automatically serve you with a cup of soup. Perfect for the cold weather.

street food

street food

Okay so after that, as we were walking to the direction of Hongik University, Carla pointed to us this famous stall selling Waffle Ice Cream. She said that the ajumma is quite famous in this area for this. So, in other words, more food. haha. I couldn’t pass it off this time. Imagine eating ice cream in a weather colder than the ice cream! There are a lot of possibilities in this place, more importantly a lot of food choices.

Waffle Ice Cream stall

Waffle Ice Cream stall

ice cream waffles

ice cream waffles

I should stop now. I’ve been talking non-stop about food. Hehe.

After that we just chilled for a while at Carla’s hotel, then my sisters went back to the hostel. They told me during midnight there was snowfall, but I was already asleep by then. πŸ˜€

XOXO,

Jinkay ❀

5 thoughts on “The Chronicles of Korea – Hongdae

  1. Pingback: The Chronicles of Korea – Trick Eye Museum and Exploring the Han River | this is me

  2. Hi Jinkay..
    Can you tell me where exactly in Hongdae is the colorful wall paintings where you tool pics? And if you don’t mind, can you tell me how much did you spend for the korean bbq? Or can you recommend me any affordable korean bbq resto in myeongdong, hongdae or dongdaemun or any particular place in Seoul?
    Thx in advance

Leave a Reply

