Applying for an Australian VISA

Applying for an Australian Visa is totally different from applying for a visa in an Asian country. You can do it online or manually, although I advise to do it online since it easier and faster.

I applied for my VISA through the VFS Global Website. Getting to the correct site for the eVisa application can be quite confusing as there are so many links provided in their website so I hope that this post could be of great help. πŸ™‚

If you are going for a short visit, the visa to apply for is the Visitor Visa (subclass 600). The various types of visit visas are listed on this link. From this link you can choose visitor visa, then choose to apply for the visa online.Β From there you can Start an application, create an ImmiAccount, log-in and proceed to answer the form online. You can save your work every time you log-out then continue another day. After filling up the form, there will be a page for all the requirements to be attached. The requirement states that each document should be notarized but I didn’t actually have all my documents notarized and my application was approved. The list of required documents are as follows:

  1. Travel Document: Passport – the particulars page of your passport
  2. (Evidence of) Visa status in Country of Residence – in my case, a copy of my Spass
  3. (Evidence of) Travel History – a.Β Entry/Exit stamped pages of the current passport; b.Entry/Exit stamped pages of the expired passport
  4. (Evidence of) Birth or Age – a copy of my NSO Birth Certificate.
  5. (Evidence of) Work Experience, Overseas – a. Employment Contract from my Employer ; b. Letter/Statement from business/employer stating intent to return to work.
  6. (Evidence of) Financial Capacity, Personal – a copy of one month recent bank statement of my Payroll account.
  7. (Evidence of) Assets, Personal – I used the same bank statement I attached for #6.

After attaching every document, double check all the documents as well as your answers to the form and then you can proceed for payment. Only then will they start to assess your application. The application fee is AUD$ 135 plus surcharges depending on the card you use.

I received an email straightaway to acknowledge my application, as well as a letter requiring me to provide personal identifiers in the formΒ of biometrics. I then had to book for an appointment online for biometrics (fingerprint and facial photo taking). You can also go there for walk-in and just let them know you are there for biometrics. There is a SGD 43.30 (to be paid in cash) processing fee for the biometrics. After that you just have to wait for the Visa Grant to be sent to your email. I received mine a few hours after I got my biometrics taken.

VISA application from the Philippines can also be done online, although the document requirements have a slight difference to the requirements here in Singapore. Also, biometrics is not required and the Visa grant can take upto 5 weeks before approval (or rejection).

Til next time!

xoxo,

Jinkay ❀️

6 thoughts on “Applying for an Australian VISA

  1. Pingback: Taiwan Visa Application | this is me

  2. hi am from Nigeria i got married to a filippino we are both in Nigeria now we wish to visit Australia can someone help how to go about it. thanks

  3. Pingback: Oz Oz, Oy Oy Oy! | this is me

Leave a Reply

